Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

MHQCC : members


Members of the Council

The Honorable Anthony G. Brown
Lieutenant Governor, State of Maryland
Council Chair

Joshua M. Sharfstein, M.D.
Secretary, Maryland Department of Health & Mental Hygiene
Council Vice-Chair

Jill A. Berger, M.A.S.
Vice President, Health and Welfare Plans for Marriott International

James S. Chesley, Jr., M.D.
Practicing Gastroenterologist

Lisa A. Cooper, MD, MPH, FACP
Professor of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Director, Johns Hopkins Center to Eliminate Cardiovascular Disparities

Richard "Chip" Davis, Ph.D.
Vice President for Innovation and Patient Safety, Johns Hopkins Medicine (JHM)
Executive Director, JHM Center for Innovation in Quality Patient Care

Barbara Epke, M.P.H., M.S.W., M.A.
Vice President, LifeBridge Health System

Nicolette Highsmith-Vernick, M.P.A.
President and CEO, Horizon Foundation

Roger Merrill, M.D.
Chief Medical Officer, Perdue Farms Incorporated

Peggy O'Kane, M.H.S.
President, National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA)

Marcos Pesquera, RPh, MPH
Executive Director, Center on Health Disparities
Adventist HealthCare, Inc.

E. Albert Reece, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A.
Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Maryland
Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine

Jon Shematek, M.D.
Sr. Vice President and Chief Medical Officer
CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield

Kathleen White, Ph.D., R.N., C.N.A.A., B.C.
Associate Professor, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing

Christine R. Wray, FACHE
President, St. Mary's Hospital


Office of Governor