Hot Topics Archives:
Archived 05/04/2015: Maryland Health Connection
Archived 12/03/2014: Board Membership
All Board members are appointed by the Governor and serve a four-year term, with eligibility for a second term. The Board currently has a Community or Public Health Dietetic Practice vacancy on the Board. In addition, Margo Gladding, CNS, LDN, Nutritionist Board Member, is eligible for reappointment to the Board. Although Ms. Gladding is eligible for reappointment, the Board is required to notify all licensees of the positions.
If you are interested in serving on the Board, please contact:
Kim Bennardi, Administrator
Office of Appointments and Executive Nominations
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
201 W. Preston Street, 5th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201
Archived 09/23/2014: The Summer 2014 Newsletter now available. Newsletter includes important information about 2014 renewals
Archived 08/13/2014: Bill Authorizing Cease and Desist Orders, Injunctive Relief, and Civil Penalties for Unauthorized Practice Signed By Governor on April 14, 2014
Senate Bill 379 – State Acupuncture Board and State Board of Dietetic Practice – Action and Penalties for Violations of Practice Acts and Supervisory Authority of Acupuncturists, Chapter 160 (2014) was signed by Governor Martin O’Malley on April 14, 2014. The legislation authorizes the Board to issue Cease and Desist Orders, obtain injunctive relief, and collect civil penalties for the unauthorized practice of dietetics in Maryland. The legislation is effective October 1, 2014.
Archived 04/16/2014: House Bill 304 and Senate Bill 379
State Acupuncture Board and State Board of Dietetic Practice – Action and Penalties for Violations of Practice Acts, have been introduced during the 2014 Session of the Maryland General Assembly. These bills would authorize the Board to issue cease and desist letters for unauthorized practice and misrepresentation as a licensee and to assess a maximum civil fine of $50,000 for unauthorized practice. You may track these bills via the Maryland General Assembly’s website at: www.mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga.
Archived 01/30/2014: Online renewals begin September 4, 2013
Please check if the expiration date on your license is October 31, 2013. If so, you will be able to go to the Board’s website at www.dhmh.maryland.gov/dietetic and click “Online renewals” starting September 4, 2013 to renew your license.
You may renew online between September 4, 2013 - October 31, 2013. Please note that online renewals between November 1, 2013 - December 31, 2013 will be assessed a $100 late fee.
Archived 08/28/2013: Senate Bill 237
Senate Bill 237-Health Occupations - Sunset Extension and Program Evaluation, Chapter 211 (2013) was signed by Governor Martin O’Malley on May 2, 2013. The legislation extends the termination date of the Board to July 1, 2025.
Top Row Left to Right: Kristen Neville (Health Occupations Board Legislative and Regulations Coordinator), Marie Savage (Board Director), Melanie Brooks (Board Chair), and Lenelle Cooper (Board Administrative Officer) Bottom Row Left to Right: Senator Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., Governor Martin O’Malley, and Delegate Michael E. Busch
The following individuals are up for reappointment to the Board:
Name: Melanie A. Brooks, RD, LDN
Term: 7/2013 - 6/2017
Category: Clinical Dietetic Practice
Name: Lauren I. Mirkin, MS, CNS, LDN
Term: 7/2013 - 6/2017
Category: Certified Nutrition Specialist
Although the members are eligible for reappointment, the Board is required to notify all licensees of the positions. If you are interested in applying for a position on the Board, please contact Marie Savage, Director, at 410-764-4741.
New newsletter now available online. Newsletter includes important information about 2011 renewals.
20 HOUR LIMIT FOR SELF STUDY CEUS
Did you know that there is a 20 hour limit for self-study CEUS per renewal cycle? Code of Maryland Regulations (“COMAR”) 10.56.05.04F provides the following:
Category 4—Professional Reading, Independent Learning, Study Groups. This category includes formalized professional reading, independent learning, and study groups, which shall be verified by any documentation requested by the Board and may not exceed 20 hours of continuing education credit.
Please note that this limit does not apply to online seminars. Online seminars fall under Category 2- Seminars, Lectures, Journal Clubs. Category 2 does not have a limit.
Please contact the Board if you have any questions regarding CEU limits.