Board of Occupational Therapy Practice
Listed below are various forms utilized by the State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice for original licensing and renewal and/or reinstatement of an existing license. Please return these forms in the mail since originals are needed. Faxes and email versions are not accepted at this time.
To further its commitment to equal opportunity, the Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy requests applicants to provide, voluntarily, their race/ethnicity information. This information will be used for statistical purposes only by authorized personnel.
Explanation of Race/Ethnic Categories:
- American Indian or Alaska Native - a person having origins in any of the original peoples of North or South America, including Central America, and who maintains tribal affiliations or community attachment.
- Asian - a person having origin in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, or the Indian subcontinent including, for example, Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippine Islands, Thailand, and Vietnam.
- Black or African American - a person having origins in any of the black racial groups of Africa.
- Hispanic or Latino - a person of Cuban, Mexican, Puerto Rican, South or Central American, or other Spanish culture or origin, regardless of race.
- Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander - a person having origins in the original peoples of Hawaii, Guam, Samoa, or other Pacific Islands.
- White - a person having origins in any of the original peoples of Europe, the Middle East, or North Africa.
The following forms are needed to apply for an official license:
These forms are needed to apply for temporary licensure. It is also advisable to print/view the Frequently Asked Questions for Temporary Licensure.
Completed application, along with 2 self-addressed labels and an application fee of $200
2 moral character endorsement forms
Successful completion of the Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy jurisprudence exam
If currently and/or previously authorized to practice in any other state or country, a letter of verification of licensure, registration, or certification in good standing from the appropriate authority of that state or country.
Confirmation of registration and eligibility letter from Professional Examination Service (PES)
ALL APPLICANTS SHOULD ALSO DOWNLOAD THE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS, APPLICANT'S CHECKLIST, LICENSURE PROCEDURE PAMPHLET AND BOARD SURVEY.
The Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 10, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, can be viewed at www.dsd.state.md.us. Click COMAR Online from the selection bar. Select #3 under the search options. Select Title 10. Page down to select Subtitle 46, Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, and then select the chapter you wish to view. The pdf version of the statute and regulations can be viewed by visiting our Practice Act & COMAR Regulations page.
The following forms are needed to apply for a reinstatement:
Completed reinstatement application, along with a fee of $225
Documentation certifying a minimum of 12 contact hours of continuing education activities obtained with a 1-year period preceding the application for reinstatement as specified in COMAR 10.46.04. If there has been a lapse of 3 or more years in practice, please see COMAR 10.46.04.04 C(2)(a)(b) for more information.
2 moral character endorsement forms
Verification of initial certification or examination from NBCOT
If currently and/or previously authorized to practice in any other state or country, or both, a letter of verification of licensure, registration, or certification in good standing from the appropriate authority of that state or country.
Successful completion of the Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Jurisprudence Exam.
Licenses expire on June 30th. Notice of renewal and application shall be sent to the last known address of each active licensee at least 30 days before the expiration date of the license. The following is needed:
A completed renewal application shall be returned to the Board, postmarked, by the deadline for renewal. At the time of licensure renewal, a licensee who has completed the continuing education requirement shall sign the
renewal form attesting to the completion of the required contact hours as specified in COMAR 10.46.04.05.>
Licensees who are audited, must successfully complete the requirement of the audit prior to renewal of licensure as specified in COMAR 10.46.04.05.
Renewal fees are published on the renewal page.
A completed renewal application postmarked after the deadline shall be assessed a late fee as specified in COMAR 10.46.05 (currently $25).
Incomplete applications will not be accepted as complete.