Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

BOPC : overviewofoutofstatecertif

Board of Professional Counselors

Overview of Out of State Certification Process

 

 

1.         Application Process – In order to qualify for Out of State alcohol and drug certification, an applicant shall complete and return the Board application. All questions on the application must be answered. The applications for Out of State alcohol and drug counseling are on the website click on  Forms.

 

2.         Fees – Application Fee of $75.00 must be submitted with the application.  At the time of approval, $100.00 certification fee is required.  Fees are non-refundable

 

3.         Out of State Verification –Verification from the credentialing state(s) where applicant is currently licensed is required. The credentialing state must complete the verification form and send form directly to the Maryland Board.

 

             A copy of current license or certificate from each state, territory, or jurisdiction where you are authorized to practice alcohol and drug counseling is required.

 

            Professional Experience Verification –Verification of required clinical experience is required.  The Board will accept verification from employers, supervisors, or colleagues.  In the case of colleague, the colleague must have a mental health credential and provide documentation.

 

4.         Education – Official transcripts from an accredited college or university must be included with the application.  There are 3 tiers for certification:

  • CPC-AD – Master’s degree Health and Human Services counseling field from an accredited college and 3  semester credits (or 5 quarter credits) NO CEU’s in the following:

·         Alcohol and other drug specific ethics that includes the following content

    • Self-disclosure of recovery status
    • Ethics of being a two hatter
    • Self-help fellowship participation
    • Avoiding dual relationships
    • Relapsing counselors
    • Confidentiality Laws.

·         CAC-AD - Bachelor’s degree in Health or Human Services counseling field from an accredited college or university AND 1 semester credit (or 2 quarter credits or 12 CEU’s) in Alcohol and other drug specific Ethics.

·         CSC-AD – Associates degree in Health or Human Services counseling field from an accredited college AND 1 semester credit (or 2 quarter credits or 12 CEU’s) in Alcohol and other drug specific Ethics.

5.         Required Supervised Clinical Experience

·         CPC-AD – 3 years with 2,000 hours providing alcohol and other drug counseling

·         CAC-AD – 3 years with 2,000 hours providing alcohol and other drug counseling

·         CSC-AD – 2 years with 2,000 hours providing alcohol and other drug counseling

6.   Examination CPC-AD Applicants must pass the Examination for Masters Addiction Counselors (EMAC) and the Maryland State Law Test.  The EMAC is given four (4) times during the year:  January, April, July and October.

CAC-AD and CSC-AD Applicants must pass the examination developed by International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse (ICRC/AODA) and the Maryland Law Test.   The ICRC is given four (4) times a year:  March, June, September and December.  The Law test is given twice a month at the Board’s office.

7.    Eligibility to take the exam, applicants must:

  • Be of good moral character
  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Meet the education requirements in #4 above.